Watch Marvel Movies in Order

Are you a fan of Marvel? This guide will surely put you at ease! We’ve highlighted a guide showing you how to watch Marvel movies in order! All the Marvel Cinematic Universe movies below, have been placed in chronological order

Watch the Marvel movies in order

This will allow you to enjoy a full movie and TV show marathon of the best that Marvel has to offer. Of course, some of the content hasn’t yet been released and is said to hit the screens by the end of 2024! With that said, think of this guide like a detailed Marvel superhero itinerary with precise details of release dates and more.

If you’re completely new to the Marvel fandom, we recommend watching its movies by its release order. However, if you’re a hardcore Marvel movie fanatic, then the chronological order might be something that you’re interested in.

Either way, and with whichever way you decide to watch Marvel content, this guide will show you how to watch the Marvel movies in order. It will help clear up any confusion if you’ve watched one part of many in long breaks.

All the content is divided into phases and broken up between movies and TV shows. It might be a little confusing, especially since the parts are here and there, but hopefully, this guide will help you get sorted!

How to watch the Marvel movies in order according to their release dates


We’ll first dive in on how to watch Marvel movies and TV show counterparts in release order. All the Marvel films and shows indicated below are categorized according to phases. These phases introduce what’s taking place, how a particular plot ends, how new characters are brought in, etc. The phases highlighted below include all the Marvel movie and TV show release dates that also include shows like Wanda Vision and more!

Phase 1: Assemble (2008-2012)

  1. Iron Man (2008)
  2. The Incredible Hulk (2008)
  3. Iron Man 2 (2010)
  4. Thor (2011)
  5. Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  6. Marvel’s The Avenger (2012)

Phase 2: The Age of Ultron (2013-2015)

  1. Iron Man 3 (2013)
  2. Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  3. Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  4. Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  5. Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  6. Ant-Man (2015)

Phase 3: Endgame (2016-2019)

  1. Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  2. Doctor Strange (2016)
  3. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)
  4. Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)
  5. Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  6. Black Panther (2018)
  7. Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
  8. Ant-Man and the Wasp (2018)
  9. Captain Marvel (2019)
  10. Avengers: Endgame (2019)
  11. Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019)

Phase 4 of MCU: Legacy (2021-2022)

  1. Black Widow (2021)
  2. Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (2021)
  3. Eternals (2021)
  4. Spider-Man: No Way Home (2021)
  5. Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness (2022)
  6. Thor: Love and Thunder (2022)
  7. Black Pantha: Wakanda Forever (2022)
  8. The Marvels (2023)
  9. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol.3 (2023)
  10. Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania (2023)
  11. Fantastic Four (TBA)
  12. Blade (TBA)

Undetermined Phase

  1. Deadpool 3 (TBA)
  2. Captain America 4 (TBA)

How to watch the Marvel movies in order to chronological dates

This guide is a little more confusing as compared to the one on top. We’ve pinned the following shows according to chronological events rather than their release dates. This list is recommended for those who are already halfway in or completely caught up with the Marvel Cinematic Universe movies.

Here’s a list showing you how to watch Marvel movies in order to their chronological dates:

  1. Captain America: The First Avenger (scene during WWII)
  2. Captain Marvel (takes place in 1995)
  3. Iron Man (takes place in 2010)
  4. Iron Man 2 (takes place after Iron Man)
  5. The Incredible Hulk (time unspecified, pre-Avengers)
  6. Thor (takes place six months before Avengers)
  7. The Avengers (takes place in 2012)
  8. Iron Man 3 (takes place six months after The Avengers)
  9. Thor: Dark World (post-Avengers, pre-Ultron)
  10. Captain America: Winter Soldier (Came out sometime after Avengers, and sometime before Ultron)
  11. Guardians of the Galaxy (during 2014)
  12. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (after Guardians)
  13. Avengers: Age of Ultron (takes place in 2015)
  14. Ant-Man (takes place in 2015)
  15. Captain America: Civil War (post-Ultron, pre-Infinity War)
  16. Black Widow (takes place right after Civil War)
  17. Spider-Man: Homecoming (post-Civil War, pre-Infinity War)
  18. Doctor Strange (takes place in 2016)
  19. Black Panther (takes place in 2017)
  20. Thor: Ragnarok (post-Ultron, pre-Infinity War)
  21. Avengers: Infinity War (takes place in 2017)
  22. Ant-Man and The Wasp (fits between Infinity War and Endgame)
  23. Avengers: Endgame (starts in 2017, finishes in 2022)
  24. Spider-Man: Far From Home (eight months after Endgame)
  25. Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (set in the present day of the MCU)

As for the Marvel TV show chronological dates:

  1. WandaVision (comes out three weeks after Endgame)
  2. The Falcon and the Winter Soldier (takes place roughly 6 months are Endgame)
  3. Loki (post The Avengers 2012, but better to be watched after Endgame)

Watch Marvel movies in order on Disney Plus

For those of you who don’t know, most Marvel movies are aired on Disney Plus. However, despite that, you will only find a few of the Marvel content on there. The only two films currently not available on Disney+ are The Incredible Hulk and Spiderman – because the rights are owned by Universal and Sony. You could, however, download or live stream them from other platforms so that your marathon isn’t disrupted.

Also, if Disney Plus is not available where you’re located, you can still access Disney Plus from anywhere with the help of the best VPN. FastestVPN works with Disney+ and will help you watch all of the Marvel movies and TV shows without a glitch!

Here’s a list of the Marvel movies currently on Disney Plus:

  1. Iron Man
  2. Thor
  3. Iron Man 2
  4. Captain America: The First Avenger
  5. The Avengers
  6. Iron Man 3
  7. Captain America: The Winter Soldier
  8. Thor: The Dark World
  9. Guardians of the Galaxy
  10. Avengers: Age of Ultron
  11. Ant-Man
  12. Captain America: Civil War
  13. Doctor Strange
  14. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
  15. Captain Marvel
  16. Avengers: Infinity War
  17. Avengers: Endgame
  18. Thor: Ragnarok
  19. Black Panther
  20. Ant-Man and the Wasp
  21. Black Widow
  22. Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (from November 12)

Other than that, here are the Marvel TV shows available on Disney Plus:

  1. WandaVision (now available)
  2. The Falcon and the Winter Soldier (now available)
  3. Loki (now available)
  4. What If…? (now available)
  5. Hawkeye (November 24, 2021)
  6. Ms Marvel (expected early 2022)
  7. She-Hulk (TBA)
  8. Moon Knight (TBA)
  9. Secret Invasion (TBA)
  10. Ironheart (TBA)
  11. Armor Wars (TBA)
  12. Wakanda series (TBA)

To conclude

And you now know how to watch the Marvel movies in order! We mentioned above that Disney Plus is one of the best streaming services that offer access to Marvel Cinematic Universe movies and TV shows. All you need to do is sign up for a Disney Plus account, or use FastestVPN to get access to it.

The best part is that FastestVPN is currently having a Black Friday and Cyber Monday VPN sale! Get it before the offer ends!

Take Control of Your Privacy Today! Unblock websites, access streaming platforms, and bypass ISP monitoring.

Get FastestVPN
Subscribe to Newsletter
Receive the trending posts of the week and the latest announcements from FastestVPN via our email newsletter.

0 0 votes
Article Rating

You May Also Like

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments