How to Delete Your Telegram Account 2024

Need to know how to delete your Telegram account permanently or instantly? This guide will show you how. For it to happen, go to the privacy and security settings on the Telegram Deactivation Page or the app. 

How to Delete Your Telegram Account 2024

SUGGESTION – Telegram and other social media apps often come with security or privacy issues. Plus, Telegram itself isn’t available in every country. To get around these issues, FastestVPN can help unblock and use it safely. This is only if you’re thinking of keeping your Telegram account. 

You also have the option to set up the self-destruct period if you’re inactive on the app. Since it’s not easily doable on the app or browser, there are a few ways to go about it. Let’s dive into it. 

What is Telegram Messenger?

Think of Telegram or Telegram Messenger as a cross-platform and cloud-based messaging app that works across all your devices, from phones and computers to tablets and web browsers. Launched in 2013, it lets you chat with friends, share photos and videos, and even jump on voice or video calls, both private and in groups. It even allows for live broadcasts! The service claims to have a big focus on security, with encryption available for chats, calls, and media, but how true is that?

Short On Time? Quick Guide for Deleting Telegram Account

Just in case you’re only looking for a quick tutorial to delete your account on Telegram, take a look below: 

  • If the Telegram app does not work for you, launch your browser. 
  • Go to the Telegram Deactivation Page
  • Enter the phone number you’ve registered with. 
  • You will then receive a verification code sent to your Telegram app. 
  • Copy the code from the app and paste it into the code box field on your browser. 
  • Now, click on “Delete account” and confirm when. 
  • Your Telegram account has been deleted. 

Why Should You Delete Your Telegram Account?

Even though Telegram Messenger has more than 700 million monthly users, many are looking for ways to delete their accounts. There are plenty of reasons to want to remove your account on Telegram, including privacy and security issues or lack of activity. 

Before You Delete Your Telegram Account – Keep This in Mind

Just in case you’re learning how to delete your Telegram account, there are a couple of things to keep in mind before proceeding. You should know that once you delete it, it’s permanent. 

There is no reversing it. You will lose access to all the data that was stored on the app, including messages, numbers, videos, pictures, etc. So, it’s best that you create backups of the content before removing your account completely. 

Secondly, there is no way for you to retrieve the account or delete it temporarily. You will need to create a new account and start over. Now that you have the guidelines let’s head to the tutorials. 

How to Delete Your Telegram Account Permanently via Browser

It’s not so straightforward to delete your account from the Telegram app, which is why doing it from a web browser is crucial. However, it won’t be the traditional method. There is a separate page for it. Here is how you can get started: 

  • First, go to the Telegram Deactivation Page.
  • Once there, enter the phone number that you use for Telegram. 
  • You will now get a verification code on your mobile app. 
  • Enter the verification code that you received into the code box. 
  • It will redirect you to another page where you will be able to access more Telegram settings, including an option to delete your account.
  • On this page, you will see options like how to change your Telegram number and more. Look at the bottom and click on “Delete My Account.” 
  • When you see the reconfirmation box, click on “Yes, delete my account.” 

That is all. Now, this action is not reversible. 

Deleting Your Telegram Account Due to Inactivity

 Telegram claims that it’s a privacy-centric app, which is why it gives users the option to get their accounts deleted after a period of inactivity. This is the reason to have user information protected. 

It offers a feature that users can consider if they feel they won’t be using the app for a while. This is to ensure that no information is stored or kept. So, if you don’t sign in to your Telegram account for a while, it will get deleted.

To enable this feature and set the time period, here is how to get started:

  • Launch the Telegram app on your device.
  • Click on the “Menu” tab in the upper-right corner of the screen.
  • Tap on the “Settings” option in the menu.
  • Select “Privacy and Security.”
  • Under the “Delete my account” option, select the box that says “If away for.”
  • Select the time period; “1 month, 3 months, 6 months, 1 year.” There is also an option for deleting your account immediately. 

Telegram will now automatically delete your account if you’ve been away for longer than the time you mentioned. 

How to Delete Your Telegram Account from Different Devices

The tutorials below are used for Android, iPhone, Windows, and Mac. I’ve mentioned that there is no way to delete your account from the app. So here is how to do it on your Android, iOS, Mac, and Windows devices: 

Delete Telegram Account on Android and iPhone

Here is how to get started: 

  • Open the Telegram app. 
  • Click on the hamburger 3-line icon on the top-left of your app. 
  • Tap on “Settings” > “Privacy and Security.”
  • Click on “Delete my account.” 

Delete Telegram Account on Windows and Mac

Let’s get started: 

  • Open the Telegram app on your device. 
  • Tap on the settings menu. 
  • Select “Privacy and Security.”
  • Scroll and select the “Delete my account” option.

FAQs

Is there a way to permanently delete my Telegram account?

Yes, you only have to go to the Telegram deactivation page to delete your account successfully.

Why can’t I delete Telegram?

The app does not always work for permanently deleting your Telegram account. You either try it from the destruct option from the mobile app or via the deactivation page on your browser.

How do I force delete my account on Telegram?

You only need to enter your registered Telegram phone number in the empty field to receive a code. This way, you can easily and successfully delete your Telegram account.

Can I get my old Telegram account after deleted?

You can create a new Telegram account but you cannot use the old one once you’ve deleted it.

Is Telegram safe?

In general, Telegram is relatively safe. It offers encryption for all your text messages, etc. However, there is no saying that the app is completely 100% safe to use.

Can I delete my Telegram account using SMS?

No, you cannot. You do need to add your registered number to receive a code, but you need to enter that code on your mobile Telegram app.

Is it possible to delete the Telegram account without a confirmation code?

You can, but only by using the account self-destruction feature on the mobile app.

What happens if I delete my account on Telegram?

Once you delete your Telegram account, your account is permanently removed. This means that you lose access to all information, your chats, videos, pictures, etc.

To Conclude

You now know the best methods on how to delete your Telegram account on multiple devices and via your browser. However, if you’re still planning on using Telegram, it’s best that you do it safely. Always make sure that your 2FA verification is enabled, tweak your privacy settings, never click on unknown links attached to the messages you receive, and never share personal information. Plus, the best way is to use FastestVPN for complete security. 

Take Control of Your Privacy Today! Unblock websites, access streaming platforms, and bypass ISP monitoring.

Get FastestVPN
Subscribe to Newsletter
Receive the trending posts of the week and the latest announcements from FastestVPN via our email newsletter.
icon

0 0 votes
Article Rating

You May Also Like

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Get the Deal of a Lifetime for $40!

  • 800+ servers
  • 10Gbps speeds
  • WireGuard
  • Double-VPN
  • 10 device connections
  • 31-day refund
Get FastestVPN