How to Deactivate Facebook Messenger

Social media has given people access to information at their fingertips and the convenience to socialize with friends and people from around the world. For many of them, online social activity has become a distraction. The constant urge to check on the news feeds and notifications borders on addiction. The number of social media fighting for attention has made it increasingly difficult to step away.

Deactivate Facebook Messenger

But many people have realized that it’s time to move away from the labyrinth that is social media. The “digital detox” – as it’s known – is a practice of taking some time off from digital life. Many have followed in this march to recuperate from the “pull” of social media.

If you are looking to join, read on as we explain how you can delete your Facebook Messenger.

Why You Should Deactivate Facebook Messenger

It’s phenomenological that social media can have an adverse effect on people’s life. Connecting to new friends and engaging with friends online is an exciting and convenient aspect of social media, but it can be addictive.

Moreover, social media giant Facebook has been under scrutiny over privacy scandals. Facebook has been in the news several times in the past five years, even appearing in front of the U.S Congress to testify to some hard-hitting questions on user privacy originating from the Cambridge Analytica scandal.

In 2018, it was reported that a firm known as Cambridge Analytica harvested data of millions of Facebook users in 2014. In what became Facebook’s biggest scandal to date, the social media giant has been threading on concerns surrounding privacy every since. It sparked outrage, and calls for quitting Facebook trended under the #DeleteFacebook hashtag.

It’s no secret that social media companies have done little to protect the privacy of the user. Whatever the reason may be, continue reading to learn how to deactivate Facebook Messenger.

How to Deactivate Facebook Messenger

Facebook offers a way for people to send and receive messages from people in your friends list and on Facebook. On mobile platforms, it is a separate app designed exclusively for messaging. But you need a Facebook account to use it, and it works the other way around. Deactivating Facebook Messenger will deactivate your Facebook account as well.

If you need to get away from all the constant messaging, then perhaps simply deleting the Facebook Messenger app would work for you.

Follow these steps to deactivate Facebook Messenger.

  • Log in to your Facebook account and click on the drop-down menu icon on the top-right corner.
  • Go to Settings & Privacy > Settings.
  • From the left menu, go to Your Facebook Information.
  • Click on View next to the Deactivation and Deletion
  • Check the Deactivate Account box and confirm your selection.

How to Deactivate Facebook Messenger from Mobile App

  • Launch the Facebook app.
  • Tap on the hamburger menu icon on the extreme right, scroll down and go to Settings & Privacy > Settings.
  • Go to Personal Information > Manage Account.
  • Tap on the Deactivate button. Enter your password to continue.

Once you have deactivated your Facebook account, it will be inaccessible to friends and people on Facebook. You will no longer receive friend requests and notifications. You can reactivate the account by simply logging in to the account with your password.

Should You Delete Your Facebook Account?

Deleting the account is entirely different from deactivating the account. The latter allows you to suspend the account and log back in at any time. Deleting the account wipes the account off Facebook. It means that your friends, posts, messages, likes – everything will be erased. You will no longer have access to the account.

The years of buildup that includes comments on friends’ posts and your timeline will be history.

It is a serious step that should not be taken lightly. Facebook’s platform is built on targeted advertisement, so even though we do not condone the approach as privacy advocates, we understand deleting your Facebook account is not the way to go. You can adopt certain practices that secure your online privacy, such as using privacy-focused browsers like Brave and Safari that disable cross-site trackers and by using a VPN.

If you delete your account and realize it was not the right decision, Facebook allows you to reverse the decision by logging back in within 30 days. After 30 days, Facebook will begin erasing your data from its servers, at which point it will be impossible to retrieve the account.

Conclusion

We believe that you can enjoy the internet while keeping in touch with the things you love. A VPN will help you conceal your tracks online by blocking the ISP from monitoring every activity. Additionally, the best secure web browsers are designed to provide privacy by disabling invasive elements like third-party trackers.

Take Control of Your Privacy Today! Unblock websites, access streaming platforms, and bypass ISP monitoring.

Get FastestVPN

0 0 votes
Article Rating

You May Also Like

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments